Tags

, , , , , ,

I saw this posted today on Facebook and thought it was pretty accurate.

Relationships are harder now because conversations became texting, arguments became phone calls, feelings became subliminal messages online. Sex became easy, the word love gets used out of context, insecurities have become your way of thinking. Getting jealous became a habit, trust has been lost, cheating became an accident, leaving became the only option and being hurt became natural.

I will admit that I have been guilty of some of the items on this list in the past. When serious conversations become a texting event, there’s a problem. I know some people can be difficult and make it hard to have face-to-face conversations but without real communication there isn’t real resolve. I found it easier to text or write because I don’t like to be interrupted when I am expressing myself. When I am interrupted during my turn to speak I become agitated. However, one of my weak points in conversation is interrupting. How does that work? LOL! (Jesus is still working on me)

One of the foundations in any successful relationship is effective communication. I have found that basis of many issues is lack of effective communication. Lack of effective communication can lead to uneccessary arguments, misguided perceptions, misunderstandings that can be solved by simply asking a question, and so much more. In reviewing the items listed above, I believe most if not all can be eliminated or come to a place of understanding with real, open, and honest communication. Be honest about your insecurities and what bothers you. Be honest about how your significant other makes you feel, good or bad. If we learn to be real even if it exposes us, can you imagine how much peace we can have. Some folks may require a mediator at first but learn to talk to each other folks!

One Love,

MJ

Thank you YPYT.

