Tags

, , , , , , , ,

A mothers love is a feeling that can never be replaced. Oftentimes we allow life, people, and relationships to distract us from what is most important. Sometimes we have to take a step back and evaluate our relationship between us and our child or children. If they are acting out, sick all the time, too engaged in outside activities, depressed, complain about being home, or otherwise preoccupied just step back and think. What can you change? What are you missing? Are you giving them enough positive attention? Are you spending enough time with them? Is a friendship or relationship taking up to much time? If you are in a relationship does you and your child have enough one on one time? Do you eat dinner together? Are you engaged in their activities?

The list can go on and on. Point being before you engage in outside relationships, make sure you have built the security net between you and your child. I have been guilty of forgetting the value of my children in the past especially in new relationships. My reality is relationships may come and go but my children will always be my children. Yes I believe in taking “me time” because if I don’t take care of me I can’t take care of them; however, there is a balance. It can’t be so much “me time” that my children get “no time”.

It is not enough to tell your child you love them or take them to McDonald’s or Chuck E Cheese’s when they start to complain to pacify them. We have to put just as much energy as we do in friendships and relationships into our children simply because they are worth it. If we don’t show them their value, they may never know. I encourage all mothers to take a step back and evaluate your position with the most precious beings in your life. Let them know that they are worth it!

One love,

MJ

